Faculty of Medicine
McGill University

1998 Medalists


Two medical graduates from the Class of 1998 were given special honours from the Dean of Medicine, Dr. Abraham Fuks (centre), at May Convocation. Dr. Lucie Opatrny (left) won the Wood Gold Medal, for the most outstanding performance achieved by a student in the clerkships component of the medical curriculum. The medal was founded and endowed in 1905 by Dr. Casey Albert Wood, one of the greatest benefactors of both the Osler and McGill Medical Libraries.

Dr. Eric Smith (right in photo) won the Holmes Gold Medal, for achieving the highest aggregate standing in the entire medical curriculum. This medal honours the memory of Andrew F. Holmes, the first Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, and is the only student prize founded and endowed by the Faculty itself.

Spring 1998 | Faculty Newsletter Home Page | Dean's Page