Awards & Achievements


Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

  • Elected to the Royal Society: Prof. Leon Glass (Dept. of Physiology) and Dr. Annette Herscovics, PhD'63 (McGill Cancer Centre).
  • Dr. Salman T. Qureshi (Medicine) received a 1998 Burroughs Welcome Fund Award in Biomedical Sciences.
  • Dr. Rémi Quirion (Director of the Douglas Hospital Institute and member of the Dept. of Pharmacology and Therapeutics) received the Prix Novartis of Canada from the Canadian Pharmacological Society
  • A team of researchers led by Dr. Charles Scriver, MDCM'55 (Dept. of Pediatrics), has developed a way to produce an enzyme substitute that may make the treatment of the human genetic disease phenylketonuria much less onerous
  • The Innovations in Neuropsychopharmacology Award, from the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology, was shared by Dr. Quirion with colleagues Dr. Judes Poirier and Dr. Serge Gauthier of the McGill Centre for Studies in Aging.
  • At McGill's Convocation in May 1998, the following were awarded the title of Emeritus Professor in the Health Sciences: Pierre Gloor (Neurology and Neurosurgery) and John Sandison (Anaesthesia)
  • Dr. Samuel Freedman, MDCM'53 (a former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine) won the Prix Armand-Frappier.
  • Dr. Mark Wainberg, BSc'66 (Director, McGill AIDS Centre), has been elected to a two-year term as president of the International AIDS Society.
  • Dr. Theodore Sourkes, MSc'46 (Depts. of Psychiatry, Biochemistry and Pharmacology) won the Prix Wilder Penfield
  • Dr. Phil Gold, MDCM'61, took on the Sir Arthur Sims Commonwealth Travelling Scholarship for 1998
  • Dr. Barbara Sherwin (Dept. of Psychiatry) was given the 1998 Heinz Lehmann Award by the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology.
  • Dr. Dara Charney, MDCM'91, won the Fellowship Award from the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
  • Dr. Thomas Chang, MDCM'61, (Director, Artificial Cells and Organs Research Centre) was unanimously selected to receive the 1999 ISBP Award (International Society of Blood Purification). Dr. Chang is noted for his work on artificial cells, and the application of such to medicine and biotechnology.
  • Dr. Mostafa M. Elhilali (Chairman of the Dept. of Urology) got a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Urological Association in June 1998. He has also been named Professor Emeritus at Assiut University, Egypt.
  • Dr. S.L.Tan (OB/GYN) announced the first successful pregnancy by air transport in vitro fertilization (IVF), a collaboration between the McGill Reproductive Centre (RVH) and the Hôpital de Chicoutimi, in July 1998. Human eggs were flown from Chicoutimi to Montreal, where the sperm was implanted; the mother-to-be later flew to Montreal for a brief stay, to receive the embryo.
  • Dr. Moshe Szyf (Pharmacology and Therapeutics) and his team discovered a human gene that appears to be a key to the reprogramming of cells. This gene, moreover, may be crucial to anticancer therapy. Dr. Szyf and his fellow researchers (including Dr. Sanjoy Bhattacharya, Shyam Ramchandani, and Nadia Cervoni) announced their discovery in the Nature journal, February 1999.
  • Medicine Graduates appointed to the Order of Canada: Dr. Mimi M. Belmonte, MDCM'52, Dr. Neville Poy, MDCM'60, and Dr. J. Earl Wynands, MDCM'54.
  • Dr. Abby Lippman, PhD'78 (Epidemiology and Biostatistics), has been named a YWCA Woman of Distinction in Science and Technology.
  • The Department of Biochemistry's Michel Tremblay and Post-doctoral Research Fellow Dr. Mounib Elchebly have found an enzyme in mice that could pave the way to new treatments for type II diabetes and obesity in humans.
  • Dr. Shree Mulay, PhD'69 (Medicine), received the YWCA Award as the Outstanding Woman of Distinction for the Advancement of Women.
  • Dr. E.B.Podgorsak and Corey Zankowsky, PhD'98 (Medical Physics) won three major awards (for best papers) in one year at the 1998 AAPM meeting, including the Farrington Daniels award and the Sylvia Fedoruk award.
  • The Osler Award for Outstanding Teaching went to Professor Hershey Warshawsky (Dept. of Anatomy and Cell Biology)
  • Dr. Arthur Propst, MDCM'75 (Director of Undergraduate Education at the Jewish General Hospital in Psychiatry), won the Nancy Roeske Certificate of Recognition for Excellent Medical Student Education.
  • Dr. Ruth Russell, MDCM'73 (Dept. of Psychiatry) won the 1997 Award for Excellence in Education, given by the Canadian Association of Professors of Psychiatry. She is the first woman and first child psychiatrist to win this national award.

Faculty Honour List

The Faculty Honour List for Education Excellence was initiated in 1998. The goal of this program is to recognize outstanding contributions to education in the Faculty of Medicine in the areas of teaching, educational leadership and innovation, faculty development, research and scholarly activity. Thirteen individuals were named to the list in 1998. They are: Drs. Martin J. Black, MDCM'67, (Otolaryngology), Raquel del Carpio (Radiology), Sidney Feldman (Family Medicine), Raymonde Gagnon (Medicine), Laurence Green (Medicine), Wendy MacDonald, MDCM'70, (Pediatrics), David McGillivray (Pediatrics), Peter J. McLeod (Medicine and Pharmacology), Arthur Propst, MDCM'75, (Psychiatry), Ruth Russell (Psychiatry), Harvey Sigman, MDCM'57, (Surgery), Ann Wechsler, PhD'62, (Physiology) and Edith Zorychta, PhD'74, (Pathology). The honorees were also recognized at the first Annual Symposium on Education in the Health Sciences on June 4th, 1998.

Faculty of Medicine Newsletter Home Page